Macbook Air?

January 16, 2008

I don’t have a lot of time at the moment so I’m just going to do a little post because I’m intrigued. Doesn’t really have a lot to do with the course either because it’s more about a physical product, aka. its a laptop. A disgustingly thin laptop. For those of you that don’t see the difference, here’s a tip, the laptop is sitting on top of their old Macbook pro. Just scroll through the pictures. It’s like a piece of paper folded in half.

Anyway sorry if this wasted your time, but I was just really surprised at how thin it is. You know it has to be good when an ex-Microsoft employee (Scoble) is excited about it.
P.S. Hopefully my link words 🙂

Cheers.

David McKenna

9 Responses to “Macbook Air?”

  1. davecanvin Says:

    Macbook Air: The only thing big is the price

    Pretty crazy looking laptop, however for what you’re paying it has no ethernet port, and no built in optical drive. I know if I was paying ~1900 for a laptop i’d at least want the ability to play a DVD without using an external USB drive.

    The lack of ethernet port kind of kills it in the business market too. From what I have read most major corporations don’t really use wireless networking due to security issues.

    Having said that, I do think this will be successful for Apple…. They could stick their name on anything and it would sell, they are the hottest brand out there these days.

  2. jblaquiere Says:

    The Macbook Air, IS a great looking laptop. And I would expect nothing less from Apple. They are well known for having attractive looking products. However. I have to agree with Dave (Canvin)(too many daves in this class but makes things easier to remember names:)). 1900$ IS a lot of money for a laptop that has limited functions.
    If I didn’t have my macbook, but was looking for a laptop, I would still go for a laptop that would be able to play DVDs, and have an ethernet port. What would you do if you had a CD that you would like to rip? or a CD from a text book that is used in class? You’d have to go out and buy a drive, an added expense as well has inconvenient to carry around.
    I too this will still be a success for Apple because people like sexy/sleek gadgets to show off, and Apple is good at that.

  3. wattsy Says:

    The Macbook Air does look really appealing to the consumer. It is too bad that it doesn’t have the ethernet port, and a built in optical drive. But, they probably will still sell a lot of this product because of the overall look and appeal of it. Apple seems to have a large share of the market with new technology. I hope to buy a lap top soon and I know I would want it to play dvd’s. It’s easier to buy a computer with built in features, instead of adding all these extra features at additional prices. Which keep adding up to make the computer more expensive.

  4. Tasia Says:

    So I had to check this new puppy out, and holy! it’s only 0.76 inches wide! That’s insane. I can see this laptop being really useful for someone who travels a lot, as a “second” computer. I imagine who they plan on directing this product to are people on the go (for it’s amazing portability), and who already have another computer (either desktop or laptop)…and have surplus cash. I would find it annoying to have to plug into an external drive too, but it would be nice to have a laptop which weights next to nothing. And it’s smaller (width-wise) than an average textbook, so cool!

  5. Thomas Says:

    Well one of my co-workers pointed this laptop out to me the day it was released and I have to say I am impressed with the laptop and the technology, but I can’t see the reason for it.
    A laptop that is just a half inch bigger would be able to have a DVD drive in it, and an Ethernet port too boot. I know the technology to build this cute little laptop is amazing and it definitely has the wow factor, but just because you can build something, doesn’t mean you should. I mean why do you need such a tiny computer? if you want light start building them out of carbon fibre. If you want smaller than buy a computer that doesn’t need an external drive. I think it would take up much less space to have a slightly bigger laptop than to haul this pukey little thing around with an external drive. Sure you don’t have to take the drive with you everywhere, but that takes away the functions that one comes to expect from a computer. To me this compares to having the choice to buy a smart car with very little options, or buying a camry with anything you want on it and paying the same for both. The smart car would come in handy every once and awhile but would give me very little pleasure in owning it, where as the Camry would be ideal except for that once in a blue moon opportunity where you need a car half the size of a normal car.

    -TAG

  6. mellaz Says:

    Dave:

    I love to lay my hands on that piece of art ,, Apple always been creative and come up with ideas no one else thought of before!

    FYI:

    Macbook Air automatically copies files to an external Wi-Fi based station (HD) which is available in 500GB and 1TB model and 802.11n Wi-Fi and Bluetooth 2.1 .. WHAT?

    The 802.11n standard uses some new technology and tweaks existing technologies to give Wi-Fi more speed and range.

    Thank you Apple for take us to the next level of Technology!

  7. mellaz Says:

    Dave:

    I love to lay my hands on that piece of art ,, Apple always been creative and come up with ideas no one else thought of before!

    FYI:

    Macbook Air automatically copies files to an external Wi-Fi based station (HD) which is available in 500GB and 1TB model and 802.11n Wi-Fi and Bluetooth 2.1 .. WHAT?

    The 802.11n standard uses some new technology and tweaks existing technologies to give Wi-Fi more speed and range.

    Thank you Apple for take us to the next level of Technology!

    Z

  8. David McKenna Says:

    Besides all of the features that Z pointed out (mainly because I don’t understand them), I think the Mac Air is still practical because of it’s weight. I know a lot of you are upset that it doesn’t have a CD drive, as well as many other things, but I’m thinking this laptop will be for people that travel a lot and that won’t use it as their primary computer. Many people will still probably have a desktop or maybe another bigger laptop that their base functions will be done on.
    Obviously at this price it’s not going to be for lower income individuals. Some people will probably also get it for the “cool” factor because it’s pretty.
    Dave

  9. romizuddin Says:

    I think it is one of major problem that it does not have any CD/DVD driver. I have found lots of complain about the Macbook Air over the internet such as Macbook Air’s lack of ethernet or removable battery. Also I have noticed that some people do not get the point of ultra portable.


Leave a Reply

