All Cable Companies Must Die by Jeff Jarvis

January 17, 2008

I found this to be an interesting writeup. I can relate to what Jeff is saying in regards to Cable Companies and they way that they “run” themselves. My biggest pet peve is when you call a company like Roger’s or Aliant and they keep you on the phone for a very long time. It seems to happen quite frequently..or at least everytime I call. If they’re so busy, would it not make sense to hire more “call centre” people (I don’t know what you would call them..operators?). Anyway, back to Jeff Jarvis..

Because of the fact that the Bright House company called his father about the broadband that Jeff had bought for Christmas for him, which they were specifically told not to call until AFTER Christmas..that tells me that there isn’t a whole lot of communication within that business. I find that this to be quite frequent within the majority of large companies yet, we choose these large companies because they can offer us the best price..it’s a win/lose situation. You get a cheaper price but horrible customer service. Don’t get me wrong, most of the sales representatives are very nice..but i’m not impressed with their waiting times. People have things to do, people to see, places to go..Anyway, I think that’s about it..

Leave a Reply

