Wikinomics, chapter 2 – student comments & questions

January 18, 2008

Wikinomics logo

Please post your comments and questions for this chapter as a comment below.

These are due the Friday before class by 5pm.

The people presenting this chapter are Thomas, Sofonyas, Tony and Mitch.

10 Responses to “Wikinomics, chapter 2 – student comments & questions”

  1. Tasia Says:

    Comment: On page 42, under the New Public Squares header, it talks about companies taking over its predecessors (ie; Amazon overtaking Barnes & Noble), but I think there will always be a need for physical shopping. Online shopping may become more prevalent in society but hopefully physical stores will be able to remain competitive against a lower cost method of distribution.

    Question: Does everyone in the class prefer online shopping to physical shopping? (not to be judged solely based on PEI’s limited store selection)

  2. jencampbell Says:

    Comment: I really enjoyed the ending paragraph on page 38 and following thru to the next page. The stats from 2006 surprised me because I wasn’t aware at the time that most people who used the Internet preferred the more interactive qualities to it and the communities that were built.

    Question: This book has a copyright of 2006, and when they mention Facebook as a phenomenon, do you think anyone, especially the authors, predicted that it was going to become so popular and even become more popular than myspace and other interactive networks

  3. mellaz Says:

    THE COLLABORATION ECONOMY (pg. 55):

    In this final section we describe the collaboration economy, which in itself the outcome of two converging forces: a change in the deep structures of the corporation, as companies are forced to open up their walls and collaborate with external resources to create values, and the rise of a truly global economy that demands and enables new kinds of economic cooperation and opens up the world of knowledge workers to every company seeking uniquely qualified minds to solve their problems.

    Question:

    How does a global economy change your prospects for a job?

  4. davecanvin Says:

    Sorry about missing the 5:00pm deadline Dave, I was working all day and am just getting online right now….

    My comment:

    Somewhat the same as Tasia’s comment about companies taking over its predecessors. I know personally first hand I am getting to that point…. The web brings (for me anyways) the world’s largest shopping mall with the cheapest prices right into my own home. I buy most, if not all of my clothing online and I buy tons of books (including this one) off Amazon, and I am pretty much addicted to eBay. I feel the web is changing the way we shop, because the consumer has total control and the ability to research the product before purchasing. I think that eventually all shopping will move online is some form.

    Which brings me to my question:
    Do you feel in the upcoming years more stores will integrate their stores with online shopping?
    (For example, on FutureShop.ca you can check inventory, place the order online, and pick it up at the physical store)

  5. romizuddin Says:

    Comments: Chapter 2 explains the power of “Perfect Storm”, and how a perfect storm ruins the old technology by creating new technology, which can be a metaphor like change of wave after wave. Advance Technology is a key feature in that storm, where “Web.0” enables easier communication system by creating advance communication level such as Flickr beat Webshots, Wikipedia beat Britinnica, Goole Maps beat MapQuest, Myspace beat Friendster etc.

    Question: Who are the authorities on the digital revolution that is changing every institution?

  6. Katelyn murnaghan Says:

    I find it weird to think of how the world functioned before the internet. For instance, most of the equestrian gear and aparrel that I buy is online as there are very few tack shops in the maritimes. I guess you could use a phone but you can browse the internet in order to find “the best deal” and get exactly what you are looking for. Another point that I would like to make is buying horses…I’m in the process of buying a new horse and I came across this particular horse via the internet. My options would have been cut extremely short if the internet hadn’t been invented. I think that’s the same for most things..communication, entertainment, education, etc. Options have been expanded because of the internet and I think that it’s a great thing. I guess this comment kind of adds to Tasia’s questions. My response is yes!

    Question: This might sound silly but does Google use the tags that people have made in order to get their search responses? Ex: If I search something on Google, are the Tag’s that people make the responses that I get from Google?

  7. Jeremiah Blaquière Says:

    Comment: In the chapter they discuss how MP3 “b-web” took form under the noses of the mega music companies, and how these companies having found out what has taken form (Napster, limewire etc..) have filed expensive lawsuits against b-web companies that offer mp3s, as well as against their own customers.
    Personally I have no problem downloading music (for free). I think that an artist shouldn’t be allowed to get by by creating a one hit wonder, and riding that success for a year. Artists (because of the amount they make) should still have to work for their earnings by way of concerts etc… And by people having mp3s (and the like) would more likely than not like to go see some of their favorite songs be performed live (thus increasing the sales of their concerts).

    Question: How do you see the future of MP3s and artists. Will artists have to rely more on concert tickets, or will the music industry find a way to make it harder to get free music?

    PS: Sorry this took me so long. I’m in Halifax working.

  8. imrankha Says:

    Comment: After reading this chapter, I have realized that the N-geners have grown up in a world filled with online collaboration. They find contributing and creating a part of their daily routines. I beleive this way of life is here to stay for a long long time and it will grow at a phenomenal pace where much more people with contribute.

    Question: Even though this digital world is considered productive, dont you think the youth today is spending a lot of time on the Web and could be considered a waste of time? The reason I say this is that I beleive kids might not always be collaborating productively.

  9. David McKenna Says:

    Sorry group one, I’ve been away at a conference in Halifax and didn’t have the internet until I got home.

    Comment: I was very interested to hear on page 48 that MySpace was (maybe still is?) getting more hits then Yahoo, MSN, eBay, and GOOGLE!!!!! I was never into the MySpace thing, but I still couldn’t believe that it would get more hits then Google.

    Question: I’ve heard in many different places that LAMP (Linux, Apache, MySQL, and PHP) are great free software that are all interconnected. I know Linux is an open source operating system and MySQL is an open source database, but what are the others and how are they connected?

  10. Thomas Says:

    The two above questions above and anymore that appear will not be part of the slideshow since it was finalized this morning, however I will try to check it sometime to tomorrow to make sure I have all the questions and if I have time I will get some answers. If not I’m sure Dave can help us out.

    -TAG


Leave a Reply

