Rate My Prof, Facebook, MSN.. must I go on?

January 24, 2008

While I was going through everyones posts here on BUS442, I noticed someone had posted about the website Rate My Prof..I had never heard about this site so to be honest, it took my interest. As every student would do, I decided to look up ratings on my past and present profs. Well…some of the comments were just plain old mean but in all, I found that it was an interesting website. Just like Facebook or MSN (which isn’t a website but somewhat goes along with this post) it connects people together. I realize that it is a “no-face” connection between these people but it is a connection more or less. I felt that it could come in handy next semester as the posts seemed to be fairy insync with one another.

A website like this makes me wonder “what will they think of next?”. Personally, I would never have the courage (or guts..either one works) to be able to rate a prof whether it be good or bad. With that said, would it be unethical for profs to create a website called “Rate Your Student”?..maybe it has already been done? What about in relation to business. Is there a website that rates your employer? So many questions!

 Anyway, what I want to get at is..when you post a comment or a rate for a prof, can anyone see who you are and will it come back a bite people in the … back? Personally, I feel that this is a way of well..burning the bridge behind you and you never know…one day they may be able to find out who posted a rating…

-Kate 🙂

3 Responses to “Rate My Prof, Facebook, MSN.. must I go on?”

  1. davecanvin Says:

    I have rated profs on there before…..

    I use it all the time when picking courses, it’s a great site. And no, it is totally anonymous unless you sign your name to it. The only way it could come back to haunt you is if you do something absolutely stupid like threaten to kill them or something. If thats the case they can trace your IP and prosecute you.

  2. Dave Says:

    Katelyn:

    The posts are definitely anonymous. There is a plus and a minus to this. On the one hand, this is pretty much required, so that students can feel comfortable posting candid feedback without the fear of any repercussions from the professor and/or their associates. On the other hand, various sites on the web have proven over and over the downside of anonymity: people aren’t accountable for their comments and therefore they must be taken with a grain of salt.

    You simply don’t know if a bad rating is justified or if it’s from someone who never showed up, never worked and therefore got a failing grade.

    I think this downside of anonymity is somewhat overcome where there is a lot of activity. If there are 100 posts and all/most lean in one direction, then the reliability would be higher.

  3. Katelyn Murnaghan Says:

    I guess that’s my problem with the internet. As everyone has pretty well said, you can hide behind your monitor. I don’t like the idea of that but I guess it’s the only way some people feel that they will be heard. Apart of me dislikes the site, but another part of me thinks it’s great when I am registering for a class. For some it’s a win/win situation..Unfortunately, I guess it’s the way the internet works. Anonymity is what blindly brings some people together.


Leave a Reply

