Is it really about judgement at all?

January 27, 2008

This weeks post was very difficult for me, I read thru the majority of the posts and couldn’t find anything that I could comment on or even remotely relate to, that’s why I have been putting it off till the last minute (which isn’t very considerate and I hope to post earlier next week). So finally coming to choosing a post, I chose one by Seth Godin’s called: Bad judgement. I could relate to it and I think everyone can too, or at least you can relate to the paragraph below.

 All day, you run into people with bad judgment. That critic who didn’t like your last movie, or the prospect who refuses to buy your product even though it’s better. Or the angry customer who is bitter, vindictive, loud and out to cost you your job… even though they must know it’s not your fault. Or perhaps it’s the employee who refuses to exert a little extra energy even though it would help all of you.   

Seth Godin goes on to say that if you were to stop and take a second and reflect, you may too be acting the same way they are if you had the same beliefs. Here is where I disagree, Godin thinks that if we were to believe what another person believes, we might potentially be looking at things differently, but I thinks its more than that.  I think it would be more beneficial to experience what that person has experienced to be able to understand why they do what they do, whatever that may be. It comes back to that well know saying of walk a mile in someone else’s shoes to know how they feel, before you jump to conclusions.

 

Jen

One Response to “Is it really about judgement at all?”

  1. mellaz Says:

    I do not believe movie critics unless I watch the movie myself then make my own judgment , meaning bad reviews of a movie will not stop me from renting it , my question: do critics set on a chair watch movies all day\night to post their comments or they get paid to say this move is bad or good?


Leave a Reply

