Craigslist

January 31, 2008

So gang, I’ve been noticing this craigslist website everywhere lately, just recently in the wikinomics chapter, so I decided to check it out. Turns out its this online site which acts as a network connecting users in most cities in North America. Under each city the site contains information regarding jobs, housing, items for sale, and discussion forums which are posted by people from that area. And of course the site not only is useful for classified advertisements on PEI but if you plan on moving somewhere else, you could always scope out potential jobs or housing which are listed by using the site. I just thought I’d bring this up because it seems like a useful piece of information and tied in a bit to the course material.

Tasia

6 Responses to “Craigslist”

  1. Katelyn Murnaghan Says:

    I think that’s a really great idea and it kind of sounds like Facebook..or Facebook sounds like it..whichever one works I guess! It’s a great way of bringing people together.

  2. davecanvin Says:

    Craigslist is pretty interesting, there really is nothing to it. It is handsdown one of the simplest looking sites I have ever seen. It does have its following though and it is wildly successful, so I gotta give them credit.

    Kijiji is another classifieds-type site, they are owned by eBay.

  3. David McKenna Says:

    Wow, I think this site looks disgusting. It’s a horrible interface for such a popular website, but I guess it’s functional. Little sidenote, I thought it was funny how under “for sale” it has listed “baby+kids”. I realize it’s a link to baby/kids items, but regardless I think it’s funny.

  4. wattsy Says:

    I agree. Although there probably is a lot of useful information on this site, it is not appealing to the eye. At first glance the interface makes this site look like a pop-up that you would get when visiting some travel agents web-site.

  5. davecanvin Says:

    Although it does look like a failed IT111 HTML project, I think thats the beauty of it.

    Theres no ads, no flashy graphics or frames, they just put it out there. The site will run faster than their competitors like Kijiji because they won’t waste bandwidth on graphics and all that stuff.

    If it isn’t broken, why fix it?

  6. Tasia Says:

    I completely agree with what everyone is saying. When I was continuously seeing references to craigslist on blogs and such I was expecting a real treat! The actual blog does look rather drab. But at least it’s simplistic template make it easy on the eyes. I was also kind of relieved to see a site without those “click here and win” flashing advertisements, which most likely cause 90% of the world’s seizures. I still think it is a good idea for a site. I wonder if we could use this site to get rid of textbooks! haha


Leave a Reply

