Change!

February 17, 2008

No, this is not about Obama, his slogan or even politics for that matter, I’m talking about technological changes we’ve come to see over the years. I remember it like it was yesterday when I use to walk up to the TV to change the channel or flipping a cassette out of the tape player. If someone told me few years back I’d have hundreds of channels with out having a huge dish on top of my roof I would have thought that they were crazy. Now sitting in front of my blue-ray player, when I look back, the stuff I thought that was cool back in the days are so lame right now. This kind of makes me wonder if I will ever live to look at the iPhone the same way I see the rotary phone. I understand now why Gordon Moore predicted that technology would double up every 18 month on his Moore’s Law.
Robert Scoble mentions few of the things we used to know that no longer are very useful to us. The list looked kind of a bit funny and interesting to me so I decided to post it so here it goes.
1. Dialing a rotary phone.
2. Putting a needle on a vinyl record.
3. Changing tracks on an eight-track tape.
4. Shorthand.
5. Using a slide rule.
6. Using carbon paper to make copies.
7. Developing film/photos.
8. Changing the ball or ribbon on your Selectric Typewriter.
9. Getting off the couch to change the channels on your TV set.
10. Adjusting the rabbit ears on your TV set.
11. Changing the gas mixture on your car’s carburetor.

Couple more I thought of: Winding a watch and setting the timer on a VCR, let’s see if you guys can think of any more played out technologies.

Sofonyas,

One Response to “Change!”

  1. mellaz Says:

    The change and advance in Technology is great but will this technology revolution replace the manpower at the workplace?

    Lately, I noticed that many gorillas in the market such us Wall-Mart using self-service to pay for your goods which allow them to cut on labor cost and schedule less workers. Technology could be scary in a way that many will not be employed because of the lack of technology knowledge.

    I remember when the first cellular phone was launched and how big it was but now cellular phones come in different shapes, colors and features.


Leave a Reply

