Obsolete Skills

February 20, 2008

A s I was sitting in front of my computer, anxiously awaiting the birth of our second child, who is due in less than 3 weeks. However, my wife feels that it will be at any moment. Our first daughter was born about 2.5 weeks before the due date and who am I do disbelieve my wife and that our next child will be early as well. I was reading through out required blogs and came upon Robert Scoble’s Obsolete Skills.  It got me to thinking that a lot of the things that I had done has a child and an adult, my children will never have to do or even know what they were. As I read, I realized that of the 11  he had compiled in his list, I had done 8 of them and the other 3 were being done when I was younger. Not to outdate the rest of the class I was born the year when the Amazin Mets won the World Series and the NHL only had 12 teams. I then started wracking my brain on other things that have become obsolete, here’s a list of the some that I have come up with;

1. Playing cool Atari games, like Pac-Man and Asteroids.

2. Looking up places in an atlas.

3. Using encyclopedias for reports.

4. Using a dictionary.

5. Learning multiplication tables.

6. Using mail order catalogues.

7. Banking with an actual teller.

8. Rewinding a cassette tape with the end of a pencil.

9. Using 35 mm film.

10. Using the word GOTO when programming.

After coming up with my list I went to the website Obsolete Skills and found there was a list that was compiled of obsolete technologies.

A lot of these I have never done and will never do, the question that remains is in 20 years time what things we currently do will become a part of this list. Cellphones? Fax Machines? Blogging? Who knows but I’m sure these new advances especially in technology will better our children’s lives, like they have helped to enhance our daily lives. Or have they?

Tony

3 Responses to “Obsolete Skills”

  1. davecanvin Says:

    Two obsolete thing I remember:

    1) Making “mixed tapes” on the old dual-cassette players.
    2) Playing games like Cross Country Canada or Carmen Sandiego on those old school Mac’s they used to have in elementary school.

    As for what will happen in the future? I really think it is too hard to tell. Twenty years ago if you told some people the stuff we have now they would think you were crazy

  2. jblaquiere Says:

    That’s a pretty good list……., Dave yours is good too but only two? Lets see what I can come up with…

    1) Handwriting (the flowy kind)
    2) Long Division
    3) Milking a Cow by hand

    That’s all I could really come up with……. I’ll probably have a longer list as time goes on (no offense Tony :))

  3. Katelyn Murnaghan Says:

    That’s so funny! I remember playing Duck Hunt when the first Nintendo came out. I have yet to play a game as fun as that one was… I was able to live in a “world” a bit older than mine as I have two older sisters who are 7 and 4 years older than myself. Some of my friends don’t know some of the wacky Nintendo games and things that I remember playing as a child. It makes me laugh 🙂


Leave a Reply

