Livemocha “the social way to learn a language”.

February 28, 2008

While reading a post by Jeff Jarvis, my interest took to how he and his daughter are using a site called Livemocha.  Livemocha is an online language-learning community. It works by allowing people to learn a certain language (or languages) such as English, French, Spanish, German, Hindi and Mandarin Chinese..with more to come! Not only does it give people the advantage of working and learning on their own, people volunteer their time to instruct and tutor other people with their native language. For example, I could instruct or tutor someone who would like to learn english as it is my native language. You can take a look at the link right here. Livemocha

Not only do they have tutors and intructors who speak the native language that you are trying to learn, they also have online communities from around the world so you can practice your new language. There are a lot of other neat things that you can do with this website. I think it’s a great way for people such as myself who don’t have the extra $500 to spend on a course they don’t need at Univeristy but would still like to learn a new language. This site would have been excellent to use before my trip to Peurto Plata, Dominican as a lot of the employees there understand very little english or french.

Although I don’t have time to use this site during school, I think it would be facinating to try during the summer months when time isn’t an issue. The language that I would love to learn would be Spanish as it is the United States second language. I think it could (and would in the futue) be very useful around the workplace.

8 Responses to “Livemocha “the social way to learn a language”.”

  1. Tasia Says:

    I just signed up for this Livemocha as soon as I finished reading this post the first time. I’m going to try and spruce up my French skills, and definitely want to look into German. It will come in handy in airports, haha. Hopefully they will get Italian in there too soon. I would love to try out that one! And I’m loving how this is a peer-to-peer network with the tutors and it’s offered for free! This totally is tying into the topics we’ve been covering lately, and on a lot of online blogs: like Universities offering course curriculum online.

  2. mellaz Says:

    Katelyn:

    From my own opinion the best way to learn a foreign language to live in the culture\community where they speak the language you wanting to learn (why?) because you will be forced to learn the language and practice it by speaking to people around you. I find it useless to spend $500.00 on a language course and end up learning a word or two for that Livemocha be a cost sufficient for students.

  3. romizuddin Says:

    After reading this post I went into LiveMocha. It is really good tolls to learn foreign language. It also allows you to make your own pace and goals because it has different languages to choose from. I agree with you guys it is good way to learn languages free rather than spend $500 at university.

  4. David McKenna Says:

    I think this is great. I’ve always heard the best way to learn another language is to immerse yourself in the language (aka. by moving somewhere where the language is the norm). This sounds like a great way to immerse yourself in it, especially due to the chatrooms.
    My one concern would be that anyone could teach you the language. I’m the first to admit that I suck at english, even though it is my first language. I wouldn’t teach someone else english, just because I don’ think I could do it justice. I’d be a little iffy over who was instructing me.

  5. Jon Bischke Says:

    Great blog. LiveMocha is excellent for learning some basic vocab and to practice conversations. You all may want to check out eduFire.com as well. What we’re doing is making native speaking tutors available to teach students via webcam. Might be interesting to some of you. Thanks!

  6. Katelyn Murnaghan Says:

    I agree with you Mellaz although I for one hate to travel but travel if I have to and need a vacation (which isn’t very much). I would love to learn a new language or two but I’m not one for moving to new places, trying new foods and getting into new cultures. I’m one of those people who would vacation to a place very similar to PEI. I think it’s an islander thing…

  7. the fartman Says:

    will livemocha cost money in the future?


  8. Thanks for the great write-up. If you any cool ideas for us, we’d love to hear them. Ciao!

    Clint Schmidt
    Livemocha.com


Leave a Reply

