Identity. Is it just for Superman?

March 16, 2008

I’ve been thinking about the video we watched last Monday about identity and realized how scary something like identity theft can be. Not only that, it’s scary having someone know your identity who you don’t know knowing your middle name, last name, date of birth, where you live and so on. You never know whose on the other end.

As I sat down to think, I remembered when the MSN craze began during my time in Junior High. My parents were always worried about us (the kids) using it because they didn’t know who we were talking to. They didn’t realize that it wasn’t your ordinary chat room. You’re able to decide who you talk to, who would see you online, who you could block, and so on. I couldn’t understand why they were so worried until I grew up a little bit. So now I’m wondering what people can do with your identity besides stalk you and whatnot. Not that that’s not scary enough…

I guess the first thing that comes to mind is the antiphising toolbar which you can use in your Hotmail account (I use this as an example as it’s the only one I use). I have received numerous emails about not paying for an item on Ebay. First of all, I don’t have an Ebay account. But, if I did and thought that it was a real email from Ebay and decided to log in, then my password and user name has automatically been “stollen”. I can only imagine having a Credit Card number stollen..

A good example is as follows: “Research by Harris Interactive and Gartner in the summer of 2003 found that approximately 7 million people were victims of identity theft in the previous year” The sad thing is, is that this has probably increased dramatically since 2002. With that said, according to Identity Theft Resource Centre, victims end up spending 600 hours recovering from the crime as they have to contact people and work with credit cards, banks, credit bureaus, and law enforcement. This can add up to $16,000 in lost wages an income!!! That’s basically a new Toyota Corolla!!

After reading this, I now understand why my parents were so cautious about us  using programs such as MSN. Forget about stalking, you never know what can happen to you if “unknown” people know too much..

7 Responses to “Identity. Is it just for Superman?”

  1. Tasia Says:

    Identity theft is a pretty scary concept, and I think a lot of people don’t realize how serious it can be until they or someone close to them is affected. One day I got home from work to finding my mom questioning me, “Um, dear, if someone asks you for the last 3 digits of your credit card and you give it to them…is that a bad thing?” Yeah, so we basically had to cancel all her and my father’s cards ASAP. People who are unaware of the risks of giving out personal information on the phone are easy victims, and with the rising digital age even more security issues are being brought forth. Who else here filed their income taxes online. What happens if the wrong person ever got a hold of that information? Well, hopefully they’d pay your oweing amount….

  2. davecanvin Says:

    My cousin lost his wallet in a cab two weekends ago and the next morning when he woke up and called the credit card company some (i’m assuming drunk) moron charged $300 worth of stuff to Bodybuilding.com at 4 am.

    Identity theft is a pretty scary thing, however if someone is stupid enough to fall for a phising scam (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phishing) they deserve whatever they get. Use some common sense and you’ll be fine.

  3. wattsy Says:

    good post, Identity theft is pretty scary. I watched a show on CBC a little while back about people who look for peoples personal credit information at all times. They than use this information to charge purchases to their account. It’s pretty scary how this is going on in the world.

  4. romizuddin Says:

    Yeah…identity theft is really scary in privacy issues. I found in an article that the worst town for identity theft: Napa, California: check this out:
    http://tech.yahoo.com/blogs/null/82794

    Check this video for how could be a identity theft:

  5. Katelyn Murnaghan Says:

    Yeah my father had a case way back in the day (which is why he’s allowed to tell me now because it was on the news and whatnot :p ) these people, apparently from Spain, called her up and told her that a distant cousin of hers from Germany died and he had an 8.3 million dollar estate that wasn’t left to anyone. So they told her that she could get the money but that they needed 15k for lawyer fees and what not. So eventually, they caught on to her and she now owes over 150 thousand dollars to the bank. She still thinks she’s getting this 8.3 million. With that said, she wouldn’t make a fraction of that in her salary..it’s pretty crazy

  6. Katelyn Murnaghan Says:

    *her as in the victim

  7. wardfunk Says:

    Thanks for sharing – it’s good that people are becoming more aware of the threat of identity theft. I learned recently that identity theft is only 27% financial though – it also includes social insurance identity theft, drivers license IDT, character and criminal IDT and worst of all, the identity theft that can kill you, medical IDT. I found a company that provides not only credit monitoring, but full restoration so that in the event that any area of my identity is compromised, a licensed investigator will go to work to put my good name back together again. http://www.wardoffidtheft.com. I have a lot more peace of mind knowing I’m protected now.


Leave a Reply

