Yahoo Shopping. How do you know which sites are real?

March 17, 2008

A couple of friends of mine and I are planning a trip to Moncton for a weekend in April. So being girls, we’ve been looking at places to buy clothes from because PEI doesn’t have an overly great selection of clothes. A friend of mine found this site that has some pretty cute tops. She thinks it’s a real site because it has the Yahoo Shopping logo on it. I had never heard of Yahoo Shopping until Mr. Hyndman talked about it in class a few weeks ago.

I decided to look into this cute little store whether it was real or not. I couldn’t find the name of this store anywhere on Yahoo search. The store is called Hot Couture. You would think that if it were a store belonging to Yahoo Shopping that you would be able to find it, especially on Yahoo! Even when I looked in Yahoo Shopping, nothing came up. I’m not much of a risk taker, especially when my credit card is envolved and it looks to me like they only take Visa, MasterCard, American Express and Discover. So my question is, how do you know whether a store is real or not? I think this fits in stollen identity.. or stollen credit card number.

So right now i’m in a little bit of a pickle. I can’t figure out whether it is real or not. It does state where it is located, an email address and a phone number. I guess the easiest way would be to call this number to see if anyone picks up although I’m not sure that’s the safest. If anyone has any ideas, let me know!

One Response to “Yahoo Shopping. How do you know which sites are real?”

  1. Tasia Says:

    Well Katelyn, you have made quite the discovery! I didn’t dare click on the link until I was finished studing for a final I had tonight, because I knew I may get addicted. I have a serious shopping addiction. Anywhos, the stuff there is totally wicked and talk about cheap. It’s understandable why you would assume it’s not real. It seems too good to be true! So I went to do some investigative work on the site, and here are my findings.

    Yes, it is a real place, it’s listed on Google maps link:(http://maps.google.ca/maps?hl=en&um=1&ie=UTF-8&q=Hot+Couture&near=Laguna+Niguel,+CA,+USA&fb=1&view=text&sa=X&oi=local_group&resnum=1&ct=more-results&cd=1). After looking at the shipping junk, it’s going to cost a lot to get it to PEI from Cali. There’s a $15 flat shipping fee + duties (which depend a lot of the size of the package, mostly for clothes 10$ and over) + US exchange. So a $12 shirt can come to like $40.

    Also, I’m guessing but with a lot of cheap shops like that in the US, they sell exactly that, cheap clothes. You’re not going to be getting any sustainable pieces. My bets are that it’s cheap material that washes weirdly and fall apart easily. So watch out for those types of stores, I find a lot of those when I go down there shopping (not to Cali, I wish! the eastern states)

    There’s a lot of cute stuff on there, wicked summer shirts, but I guess it depends on how comfortable you are with online purchasing. I mostly shop online with american eagle, but being a reputable company, I don’t worry. I recently purchased a customized shirt from company that didn’t seem overly reputable or safe (but I’m using the shirt as the best birthday gift ever! so identity theft is totally worth it! well not really…) so hopefully all will pan out and I won’t have crazy visa charges showing up next month…Good luck with your shopping!


Leave a Reply

