Bad Branding Strategies

April 1, 2008

I figured I would write one last post on Seth as his blog really makes good points that relate to Business. His blog on dumb branding strategies really made a lot of sense when reading it. There are many companies that have bad branding strategies such as Computer World, and Party Land. Names such as those do not make me feel like I am missing out on anything if I don’t stop into those stores. For example Computer World really seems like a plain store name. This name does not make me feel like like is a great store to stop into.

The picture below is of many successful brand names.

I know personally when I hear bad brand names I do not want to enter the store. Names with that extra catchy word or phrase really can make you want to enter the store. Future Shop might have a simple brand name, but it makes me think that everything in the store is up to date, and new ideas of the future. Or Captain Sub makes me think they are the best at making subs. I came across an article on Google dealing with the image that a good brand name does in the mind of the consumer. In this article it says that a lot of companies are fighting for mind share. A good brand name sets confidence in the mind of the consumer. If you are use to buying General Electric products and and have always had success with them. Than you are more than likely to continue buying GE products in the futurue. It sets a standard of expectations as well. An example of this would be when I buy Sony products I always think I am getting the best of the best. As well good branding makes you spend more money. I would rather spend the extra $50 dollars and get a really good pair of jeans. It gives me the confidence that those jeans will last longer, and be strong. Recognition is key in being competitive with the competition. Recognition can either be positive or negative. When I go traveling I have come to expect that when I go to Subway, I will get a good quality sub at every Subway location. Loyalty is a key factor in any business throughout the world. I am loyal to Honda, as most of the vehicles that they create are gas friendly, and most importantly reliable.

A few examples of other catchy brand names that have created strong recognition are:

  1. Starbucks
  2. Tim Hortons
  3. Best Buy

I think it is necessary to have a good brand name in order to gain more customers, and get loyalty.

Mitchell Watts

6 Responses to “Bad Branding Strategies”


  1. We will tomorrow include a link to this post in our column, The Weekly B.S. While professionally we disagree with portions of what is offered in your post, nevertheless the core topic is an excellent one. We also admire how your Blog is being used as a teaching tool.
    Very well done.
    Steve Cranford
    CEO
    Whisper

  2. wattsy Says:

    thanks for your comment Steve, I checked out your column. There are a lot of interesting topics covered in it.


  3. […] the University of Prince Edward Island, BUS442 – 4th year business class – Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada Bad Branding Strategies A blog on dumb branding […]


  4. I found your site via Whisper and I agree with Steve that it’s a great idea for a blog.

    To this specific topic: I was surprise that you included Best Buy as an example of a catchy brand name. I don’t think that it’s any better than Computer World; maybe worse since it’s a name that focuses on price as the differentiator.

    Do you think that the reason you like the Best Buy name is because it has a good reputation (rather than the other way around)?

  5. wattsy Says:

    Thanks for your comment Martin. Good point, I can see what you mean, as Best Buy are focusing on price in there brand name. My main reason for putting Best Buy as an example of a catchy brand name is for the fact that the consumer would think they would get a better deal compared to competition. I think the name Best Buy would entise the consumer to go out of there way to stop into the store. Even though the name does not really give you an idea of what would be in the store. It might make the consumer curious and stop in. Where as Computer World seems really plain as a name, and would not entise me to stop into the store.

    I have never been in a Best Buy store, but we do have a Futureshop on Prince Edward Island. When I was researching this topic Best Buy came to my attention and stuck in my mind. But I can see your point though, on how good reputations can make you think certain brand names are catchy.

    Thanks for your feedback on this topic Martin.

  6. Chris Says:

    It’s interesting how having corporate responsibility has become a successful tool in masking the real brand identity of unethical business decisions. Almost every major corporation has made a substantial effort to use positive press on “going green” in some way to try and influence positive customer feedback about their particular brand. It is true we have preconceptions on major familiar brands and can make choices within seconds regarding their services or products. But now, more than ever, it seems like everyone needs internet access while shopping to justify whether or not companies are actually “Fair Trade” or “Organic.” Yes, their products may hold true, but the means of obtaining generally lead to other unethical downfalls. (Deforestation, child labor, or inefficient processes.)


Leave a Reply

